Tokyo, Seoul, Guangzhou 2014 – day 4

Jelena Jankovic vs Garbine Muguruza

Jelena Jankovic of Serbia returns a shot to Sofia Arvidsson of Sweden during their match at the U.S. Open tennis tournament in Flushing Meadows, New York.espnw_a_garbine-muguruza_mb_1296x729

Jelena’s year was full of ups and downs. She wasted great opportunity to reach at least SFs at the US Open when she lost to Bencic in the 4th round. Garbine’s year was full of ups and downs too. She lost to an in-form Lucic-Baroni in the first round of the US Open. This match should be interesting. Garbine was impressive in her victory over Pavlyuchenkova. It means that Muguruza already played one match while Jankovic had a bye in the first round. However, JJ played 2 matches in doubles and she reached SFs with Parra-Santonja. Muguruza will be the aggressor in this match. She will be able to control the game with her explosive groundstrokes. Jankovic will play her game. She’ll be aggressive too.She’s not that powerful like Garbine, but she’s faster and more patient. JJ’s main weapon will be her backhand. She improved her serve a lot, so I believe that it will brought victory to Jankovic. Draw is now open for JJ and it’s NOT a good sign. She almost always loses her matches when she have an open draw. If she wins here, she won’t play against her nemesis( Errani), so it think it’s good for her. This match will be very close, but I believe that JJ will be steadier in the end.

Prediction: Jankovic in 3 tight sets

 

Klara Koukalova vs Maria Kirilenko

0,,12781~12743935,00 britain-wimbledon-tennis

Klara had a good start of the year, but now she’s not in really good form. She beaten Kiki Bertens in tight three sets in the first round 6:0 4:6 6:4. Maria is struggling with her injury almost for the whole year and that’s main reason why she isn’t it the top 100 anymore. Last year she reached top 10, but she’s far from that success this year. She beaten Donna Vekic in the first round after a comeback 3:6 6:2 6:4. Koukalova have flat powerful groundstrokes and she’ll control the game with them. However, Kirilenko isn’t passive neither. She have patient aggressive game and great running shots. Like every Czech player, Klara is very unpredictable. She can play amazing, but she can play poorly too. I’ll chose steadier one to win this match – Kirilenko. Klara is always unpredictable and maybe she’ll surprise us, but I don’t think it’ll happen in this match. Good chance for Maria to reach her first QF this year!

Prediction: Kirilenko in 3 sets

 

Alize Cornet vs Hsieh Su-Wei

alize-cornet-wimbledon-tennis-championships-2014-2nd-round_3Australian Open Tennis

Alize struggled against Peer in the second round, but Alize’s year overall was pretty solid. Alize survived that match somehow and she won 3:6 7:5 6:1. Peer had 5-3 and 30-love on her serve, then she had 5-4 and love-30 on Alize’s serve, after that she had 5-5 30-15 on her serve again and after that she had 5-6 and love-30 on Alize’s serve again. Cornet won somehow that second set and after that she won third set easily 6:1. Hsieh had less problems, but her opponent was weaker. She beaten Zhu 6:4 6:2 to reach her first QF this year!This match should be full of shots that you won’t see that often. If we add drama that will be probably caused by Alize, I can say that this match will be really amazing and full of fun. Alize have topspin forehand and pretty good backhand. All that is backed-up with good footwork, slices and drop shots. Hsieh have flat two-handed strokes, wicked slices and drop shots and amazing net play. Her main problem is her inconsistency and her lack of fitness. She lost some long matches because she was too tired. Su-Wei won’t give Alize easy victory, but I still believe that Cornet will win this match in straight sets. One thing is sure. This won’t be boring!

Prediction: Cornet in 2 tight sets

 

Monica Puig vs Monica Niculescu

Monica+Puig+French+Open+Day+4+icA6_Pk5k3Hl 2014 Australian Open - Day 1

Puig finally found some form. After she won her first title, she just disappeared. She beaten Zhang Ling in the second round 6:4 6:4. Niculescu struggles with her form this year, but she started playing better after Bucharest where she reached SFs. She beaten solid Misaki Doi in the second round 6:2 6:1. These two Monica’s have completly different play styles. Puig is an aggressive player with powerful groundstrokes. She’s going for her shots and her game is pretty risky. Niculescu have different play style than the other players on the tour. She mostly uses forehand slice and solid two-handed backhand. However, she’s using one-handed forehand, two-handed forehand and backhand slice too. She’s good at the net and quick around the court. She can hide her drop shots very well because she’s using lot of slice. She’s using moonballs too. Puig must play aggressive and patient tennis if she wants to beat Niculescu. I’m not sure how this match will end, but I have a feeling that Niculescu will win this match. We’ll see am I right!

Prediction: Niculescu in 3 tight sets

 

Other predictions:

—Tokyo—

Erakovic df. DellAcqua in 3 tight sets

Suarez Navarro df. Gavrilova in 2 sets( one tight, one easy )

Wozniacki df. Gajdosova in 2 sets

—Seoul—

Rybarikova df. Wickmayer in 2 sets

Gibbs df. Kovinic in 2 tight sets

Kanepi df. Kr.Pliskova in 2 sets

—Guangzhou—

K.Zhang df. Wang in 3 sets

Bacsinszky df. Torro-Flor in 2 tight sets

 Note: Congratulations to Nicole Vaidisova for winning her first match since 2010 against Karatantcheva 6:3 6:4! You can read this article about her on the official site of the WTA. Here’s the link for that article: http://www.wtatennis.com/news/article/4149272/title/vaidisova-wins-comeback-match

2 thoughts on “Tokyo, Seoul, Guangzhou 2014 – day 4

  1. Wow! When I have time I always write here my opinion, but I think I never told you that your articles are getting better and better. Good job!
    Now let’s back on predictions. I don’t know what’s happen with Muguruza, but she not the same player that I know. She is not so aggressive on her game, like she was a couple of months ago, so I’ll say JJ will win in 2 tight sets. Alize Cornet is playing very good, so I’m saying she will defeat Hsieh Su-Wei in 2 sets. It’s hard to describe Monica Niculescu ( even if she is from Romania like me ), because she had an … I don’t know: a complicated game. Like you said, she hit her forehand with slice, and not the usually forehand like we know. Probably she will win in 3 tight sets ( like you said ) but I don’t like her game. And the last one: I hope Nicole Gibbs will defeat Danka Kovinic, in 2 – 3 sets, I don’t care.
    Ohhh, I forgot Belinda Bencic\Martina Hingis, hope they will win the title at Tokyo.
    And because my english it’s not so good, if I made mistakes: I’m sorry!

    Свиђа ми се

  2. Thank you! My english isn’t perfect neither because I’m from Serbia. I’m hoping that you’re right about JJ and Muguruza because I’m big fan of JJ. She’s not playing well in this moment, but she’s still one of my favorite players. I will write my prediction for Tokyo doubles final. I think that Alize won’t beat Hsieh so easy. Cornet struggled against Peer, so I don’t know how she’ll play against Su-Wei. Monica have really different play style and lot of people don’t like it, but the only thing that matters is to win a match. Everyone have their own ways- baseline game, defensive game etc. I really appreciate your comments. It means a lot to me. I’m really satisfied when I see that someone really appreciate my work on this predictions and analysis. Thank you again! 🙂

    Свиђа ми се

Оставите одговор

